Advisory Boards

Practitioners Advisory Board

The Practitioners Advisory Board comprises experts in the field of forensic science. The board provides guidance to the CSAFE leadership team on transitioning newly developed technology from research into practice. Its members’ goal is to assist in resolving issues related to adoption of new techniques as well as the implementation of training opportunities.

Ms. Sabrina Cillessen- Program Manager
Virginia Department of Forensic Science

Ms. Christine Funk- Criminal Defense Attorney
Forensic Science Consultant

Ms. Lesley Hammer- Forensic Scientist
Hammer Forensics

Mr. Gary Licht- Criminalist Supervisor
Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation Crime Laboratory

Mr. Matt Redle- Attorney
Sheridan County 

Ms. Stephanie Stoiloff- Senior Bureau Commander
Miami-Dade Police Department

Mr. Robert Thompson, Senior Forensic Science Research Manager
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Ms. Michele Triplett- Forensic Operations Manager
King County Regional Automated Fingerprint Identification System

Senior Advisory Board

The Senior Advisory Board is responsible for providing comprehensive strategic direction to CSAFE activities. It serves to assess the soundness of CSAFE strategies and evaluates current performance against established goals. The members also prioritize seeking out opportunities to connect CSAFE to community partners.

Honorable Judge Barbara Hervey
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Dr. Sallie Keller- Director, Social and Decision Analytics Division
Biocomplexity Institute, and Professor of Public Health Sciences, University of Virginia

Dr. Jeff Salyards- Principal Analyst
Compass Scientific Consulting

Mr. Barry Scheck- Co-Director
The Innocence Project

Sir Bernard Silverman– Emeritus Professor of Statistics, former Chief Scientific Adviser
University of Oxford and Bristol, Home Office UK

Dr. Peter Stout- CEO and President
Houston Forensic Science Center 

Susan Ballou- Director of the Special Programs Office
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Technical Advisory Board

The mission of the Technical Advisory Board is to facilitate the exchange of ideas between the statistical, legal and forensic community. It also serves to bridge the gap between the private, state and federal sectors in the field to promote collaboration. This board is responsible for advising the leadership team on the validity and quality of scientific research, and seeks to promote the integration of research topics with NIST directives.

Dr. JoAnn Buscaglia
Department of Justice

Dr. Glinda Cooper- Director of Science and Research
The Innocence Project

Dr. Philip Dawid- Emeritus Professor of Statistics
University of Cambridge

Dr. Will Guthrie- Chief, Statistical Engineering Division
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Mr. Gerald Laporte– Director, Research Innovation
Global Forensic and Justice Center, Florida International University

Dr. James Lyle- Project Leader
Computer Forensics Tool Testing Program
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dr. Julia Mortera- Professor of Statistics
University of Roma Tre

Mr. Peter Neufeld– Co-Director
The Innocence Project

Dr. Marjan Sjerps- Principal Scientist and statistician
Professor by special appointment
Netherlands Forensic Institute, University of Amsterdam

Mr. Rick Tontarski- Principal
IntelliForensics, LLC

Do you have 44.03 seconds?

44.3 Seconds. That is the average amount of time it takes for a visitor to provide site feedback.
Test it yourself by taking the survey.

A scientist/researcherA member of the forensic science communityA journalist/publicationA studentOther. Please indicate.

Learn more about CSAFE overall.Discover research CSAFE is undertaking.Explore collaboration opportunities.Find tools and education opportunities.Other. Please indicate.